梅兰妮定律

梅兰妮法则

2005 年 10 月 28 日,马萨诸塞州通过了“梅兰妮法”。

“梅兰妮法”的目的是加强对马萨诸塞州在影响下经营 (OUI) 的违法者的处罚和行政制裁。 OUI 在其他州更普遍地称为 DUI。这是一个年轻女孩的朋友发起的一场运动的结果,该女孩被一名老酒司机杀死。

该法律于 2006 年 1 月生效,导致对 OUI 或 DUI 的处罚更加严厉。对于屡犯者,这些新的处罚包括在他们的许可证被恢复或如果他们获得困难许可证时安装点火联锁装置 (IID)。在任何一种情况下,此许可证都带有 Z 限制。 Z 代表酒后驾驶零容忍,并告诉执法人员,有此限制的个人只能操作安装了点火联锁装置的车辆。

点火联锁装置 (IID) 类似于连接到车辆的呼气测醉器。在启动车辆之前,驾驶员需要对设备进行呼吸。如果 IID 检测到血液中的酒精含量高于预编程限值,则联锁装置将阻止车辆启动。

Melanie 的法律允许在酒精影响下经营和酒后驾驶暂停经营的新罪行。

这意味着,如果您在驾照被吊销的情况下酒后驾车,您可能会同时被控两项罪名——OUI 或 DUI 以及吊销驾照的 OUI 或 DUI。处罚是最低一年的强制性刑罚,在县惩教所判处最高 2.5 年的监禁,并处以 $2,500 – $10,000 的罚款。此外,您还将获得为期一年的许可证暂停。

如果您在知情的情况下允许无证司机(包括家人或朋友)在持有被吊销驾照的情况下驾驶机动车辆,梅兰妮法也规定了处罚。故意雇用无照人员驾驶车辆的处罚是,第一次犯罪最高可处以 $500 的罚款,或在惩教所处以最高一年的监禁和/或第二次犯罪最高可处以 $1,000 的罚款。此外,您还可能会收到最长一年的许可证和/或注册暂停。故意让某人在无照情况下驾驶您的车辆的罪行将在惩教所判处一年监禁,初犯可处以不超过 $500 的罚款。对于第二次犯罪,您可能会被判处 2.5 年的惩教院监禁和/或最高 $1,000 的罚款。此外,您可能会收到最长一年的执照或注册暂停。如果您允许有点火联锁限制的人操作未配备该设备的车辆,这些相同的处罚也适用。

在我的下一篇文章中,我将研究梅兰妮定律产生的一些进一步的后果。

感言

“我坐在这里想着你取得了多么了不起的胜利。我只需要让你知道这是一场了不起的胜利。做得好。”
“亲爱的萨维茨先生,非常感谢您的辛勤工作,以及您对我案件的坚持。我非常感谢你在这件事上与我打交道时的敏感度。我对我的案件的结果感觉良好,并感谢你迅速解决它。”
“我无法开始告诉你我是多么感谢你最真诚的指导和支持。这是我们和儿子一起度过的最艰难的岁月之一。我们无法期待更积极的结果。”
“感谢你在法庭上代表我。一切都变得更好了。我一直在参加我所有的 AA 会议,在天主教慈善机构咨询并与我的缓刑官会面。自从我上法庭那天起,我就没有喝过酒,家里的一切都很棒。”
“我们对 Elliot 处理我们儿子案件的方式感到非常惊讶和非常感谢,并且会向任何需要法律委员会的人强烈推荐他!”
“亲爱的埃利奥特,只是一封简短的信,衷心感谢你在我出庭期间为我的辩护提供的帮助和支持。我无法表达我多么感激知道这个愚蠢的事件及其后果终于结束了。再次感谢,非常感谢。”
“我真的很想感谢你。我不知道该怎么感谢你才足够。你总是在那里完成法庭要求的任何事情。”
“我想再次感谢你。我的试用期快结束了。没有你我做不到。你是一个很好的支持。我只是想让你知道,我感谢你所做的一切。”
“亲爱的艾略特,人们在生活中不能幸免于‘幸运’。好的一面是有人在那里拯救他们。你是拯救我命运的人。你代表“诚信和正义”。你是世界上最好的律师。”

联系我们

刑事指控

额外的法律服务

您的初步咨询不收取任何费用。
称呼 (781) 974-3429 & 迈出制定制胜战略的第一步。

刑事辩护律师

如果您面临刑事指控,请致电 Elliot Savitz 和 Scott Bradley 律师事务所,电话: (781) 974-3429.

我们 24/7 全天候可用,可以通过电话评估您的刑事指控,以快速确定您的最佳行动方案。然后,我们的律师事务所将在法庭上代表您一起反对您的指控。

ATTORNEY CLIENT PRIVILEGE 保护您的谈话,因此您可以对律师开诚布公 萨维茨 布拉德利 无论收费或收费。我们真诚地致力于保护您的权利,并将始终以您的最佳利益行事。

Melanie’s Law
Home/Other Blog Posts/Melanie’s Law

Melanie’s Law

On October 28, 2005, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts passed “Melanie’s Law.”

The purpose of “Melanie’s Law” was to enhance the penalties and administrative sanctions for offenders in Massachusetts who Operate Under the Influence (OUI). An OUI is more popularly referred to as a DUI in other states. It was the result of a campaign by friends of a young girl, who was killed by a repeat drunk-driver.

The law came into effect in January, 2006, and resulted in much harsher penalties for an OUI or DUI. For repeat offenders, these new penalties included the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) when their licenses are reinstated or if they are issued a hardship license. In either case, this license comes with a Z restriction. The Z stands for Zero tolerance for drunk driving and tells law enforcement officials that individuals with this restriction may only operate a vehicle with an Ignition Interlock Device installed.

An ignition interlock device (IID) is similar to a breathalyzer, which is connected to the vehicle. The driver is required to breath into the device before starting the vehicle. If the IID detects a blood alcohol above the pre-programmed limit, then the interlock device will prevent the vehicle from starting.

Melanie’s Law allows for a new offense of Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol and Operating After Suspension for Drunk Driving.

This means is that if you are driving under the influence of alcohol while you are on a suspended license you can be charged with two crimes at once – an OUI or DUI and an OUI or DUI with a suspended license. The penalty is a one-year minimum mandatory sentence with up to 2½ years imprisonment in a County House of Correction and a fine of $2,500 – $10,000. In addition, you will also receive a one-year license suspension.

Melanie’s Law also provides penalties if you knowingly allow an unlicensed driver (including family members or friends) to operate a motor vehicle while they have a suspended license. The penalties for knowingly employing an unlicensed person to operate a vehicle are up to a $500 fine for a 1st offense or up to one-year imprisonment in a House of Correction and/or a fine up to $1,000 for a second offense. In addition, you may also receive a license and/or registration suspension for up to one year. The crime of knowingly allowing someone to drive your vehicle while they are unlicensed carries a one-year imprisonment in a House of Correction and a fine of not more than $500 for a first offense. For a 2nd offense, you can be given 2½ years imprisonment in a House of Correction and/or a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, you may receive a license or registration suspension for up to one year. These same penalties also apply if you allow somebody with an ignition interlock restriction to operate a vehicle, which is not equipped with the device.

In my next post, I will be looking at some further consequences that arise from Melanie’s Law.

CONTACT US

Thank you for your message. It has been sent.
There was an error trying to send your message. Please try again later.

CONTACT US

Thank you for your message. It has been sent.
There was an error trying to send your message. Please try again later.

CRIMINAL CHARGES

ADDITIONAL LEGAL SERVICES

TESTIMONIALS

“Dear Mr Savitz, Thank you so much for all your hard work, as well as your persistence on my case. I really appreciate your sensitivity in dealing with me on this matter. I feel good about the outcome of my case and am grateful to you for resolving it quickly.”
“Thank you for representing me in court. Everything worked out for the better. I have been attending all my AA meetings, consulting at Catholic Charities and meeting with my probation officer. I haven’t had a drink since the day I went to court and everything is great at home.”
“We were absolutely astonished and very grateful for how Elliot handled our son’s case and would highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of legal council!”
“I’m sitting here thinking about what a remarkable victory you pulled off. I just had to let you know that it was an outstanding victory. Well done.”
“Dear Elliot, People are not immune to the ‘fortune’ in their life. The bright side is that someone is out there to save them. You are the person saving my fate. You represent ‘integrity and justice.’ You are the best lawyer on earth.”
“Dear Elliot, Just a short note filled with heartfelt thanks for your help and support in my defense during my court appearance. I can’t begin to express how grateful I am knowing this foolish incident and its aftermath is finally over. Thank again, so very much.”
“I cannot begin to tell you how much I’ve appreciated your most sincere guidance & support. This has been one of the most difficult years we’ve been through with our son. We could not have hoped for a more positive outcome.”
“I really wanted to thank you so much. I cannot thank you enough. You were always there to fulfill whatever was required by the court.”
“I wanted to thank you again. I’m at the end of my probation period. I could not have done it without you. You were such a great support. I just want to let you know I appreciated everything you did.”

THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION.
Call (781) 619-3147 & Take the 1st Step to Developing a Winning Strategy.

Criminal Defense Attorney

If you are facing criminal charges, call The Law Offices of Elliot Savitz, Scott Bradley & Kenneth Diesenhof, at (781) 917-3477.

We are available 24/7 and can assess your criminal charges over the phone to quickly determine your best course of action. Then, our law office will represent you in court as we fight together against your charges.

ATTORNEY CLIENT PRIVILEGE protects your conversation, so you can be open and honest with Attorneys Savitz, BradleyDiesenhof whatever the charge or charges. We are genuinely committed to protecting your rights and will always act in your best interest.