Melanie’s Law
Home/Other Blog Posts/Melanie’s Law

Melanie’s Law

On October 28, 2005, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts passed “Melanie’s Law.”

The purpose of “Melanie’s Law” was to enhance the penalties and administrative sanctions for offenders in Massachusetts who Operate Under the Influence (OUI). An OUI is more popularly referred to as a DUI in other states. It was the result of a campaign by friends of a young girl, who was killed by a repeat drunk-driver.

The law came into effect in January, 2006, and resulted in much harsher penalties for an OUI or DUI. For repeat offenders, these new penalties included the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) when their licenses are reinstated or if they are issued a hardship license. In either case, this license comes with a Z restriction. The Z stands for Zero tolerance for drunk driving and tells law enforcement officials that individuals with this restriction may only operate a vehicle with an Ignition Interlock Device installed.

An ignition interlock device (IID) is similar to a breathalyzer, which is connected to the vehicle. The driver is required to breath into the device before starting the vehicle. If the IID detects a blood alcohol above the pre-programmed limit, then the interlock device will prevent the vehicle from starting.

Melanie’s Law allows for a new offense of Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol and Operating After Suspension for Drunk Driving.

This means is that if you are driving under the influence of alcohol while you are on a suspended license you can be charged with two crimes at once – an OUI or DUI and an OUI or DUI with a suspended license. The penalty is a one-year minimum mandatory sentence with up to 2½ years imprisonment in a County House of Correction and a fine of $2,500 – $10,000. In addition, you will also receive a one-year license suspension.

Melanie’s Law also provides penalties if you knowingly allow an unlicensed driver (including family members or friends) to operate a motor vehicle while they have a suspended license. The penalties for knowingly employing an unlicensed person to operate a vehicle are up to a $500 fine for a 1st offense or up to one-year imprisonment in a House of Correction and/or a fine up to $1,000 for a second offense. In addition, you may also receive a license and/or registration suspension for up to one year. The crime of knowingly allowing someone to drive your vehicle while they are unlicensed carries a one-year imprisonment in a House of Correction and a fine of not more than $500 for a first offense. For a 2nd offense, you can be given 2½ years imprisonment in a House of Correction and/or a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, you may receive a license or registration suspension for up to one year. These same penalties also apply if you allow somebody with an ignition interlock restriction to operate a vehicle, which is not equipped with the device.

In my next post, I will be looking at some further consequences that arise from Melanie’s Law.

CONTACT US

Thank you for your message. It has been sent.
There was an error trying to send your message. Please try again later.

CONTACT US

Thank you for your message. It has been sent.
There was an error trying to send your message. Please try again later.

CRIMINAL CHARGES

ADDITIONAL LEGAL SERVICES

TESTIMONIALS

“Dear Mr Savitz, Thank you so much for all your hard work, as well as your persistence on my case. I really appreciate your sensitivity in dealing with me on this matter. I feel good about the outcome of my case and am grateful to you for resolving it quickly.”
“Thank you for representing me in court. Everything worked out for the better. I have been attending all my AA meetings, consulting at Catholic Charities and meeting with my probation officer. I haven’t had a drink since the day I went to court and everything is great at home.”
“We were absolutely astonished and very grateful for how Elliot handled our son’s case and would highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of legal council!”
“I’m sitting here thinking about what a remarkable victory you pulled off. I just had to let you know that it was an outstanding victory. Well done.”
“Dear Elliot, People are not immune to the ‘fortune’ in their life. The bright side is that someone is out there to save them. You are the person saving my fate. You represent ‘integrity and justice.’ You are the best lawyer on earth.”
“Dear Elliot, Just a short note filled with heartfelt thanks for your help and support in my defense during my court appearance. I can’t begin to express how grateful I am knowing this foolish incident and its aftermath is finally over. Thank again, so very much.”
“I cannot begin to tell you how much I’ve appreciated your most sincere guidance & support. This has been one of the most difficult years we’ve been through with our son. We could not have hoped for a more positive outcome.”
“I really wanted to thank you so much. I cannot thank you enough. You were always there to fulfill whatever was required by the court.”
“I wanted to thank you again. I’m at the end of my probation period. I could not have done it without you. You were such a great support. I just want to let you know I appreciated everything you did.”

THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION.
Call (781) 619-3147 & Take the 1st Step to Developing a Winning Strategy.

Criminal Defense Attorney

If you are facing criminal charges, call The Law Offices of Elliot Savitz, Scott Bradley & Kenneth Diesenhof, at (781) 917-3477.

We are available 24/7 and can assess your criminal charges over the phone to quickly determine your best course of action. Then, our law office will represent you in court as we fight together against your charges.

ATTORNEY CLIENT PRIVILEGE protects your conversation, so you can be open and honest with Attorneys Savitz, BradleyDiesenhof whatever the charge or charges. We are genuinely committed to protecting your rights and will always act in your best interest.