查看屏幕右下角以切换语言。

為您的整個案件支付一筆固定費用 - 而不是按小時計算。 撥打免費諮詢電話: (781) 974-3429

拨打免费咨询电话: (781) 974-3429

Frequently Asked Questions
/经常问的问题

经常问的问题

如果您正在寻找刑事律师或对潜在指控有疑问,请查看以下我们最常见的一些问题。如需更多信息,Elliot Savitz & Scott Bradley 律师事务所的律师将很乐意帮助您解决其他问题并倾听您的情况。

我们将免费为您评估您的情况,并让您知道您是否需要刑事辩护律师。然后,我们将解释您的所有选择,讨论可能的后果并解释我们如何帮助您获得最佳结果。

驾驶无保险或未注册2022-09-29T12:54:10+00:00

是否是您忘记支付汽车保险费而现在您的保险和注册已被取消的情况?您被警察拦下,可能会被指控驾驶未投保或未注册。你的车被拖走了,你就站在路边。你从来没有触犯法律,也不能有犯罪记录。最重要的是,您可能会失去工作,而您只是不知道该怎么办。您需要法律建议。

在所有这些情况下,以及成千上万的情况下,您都会感到恐慌,只是不知道从哪里开始。好吧,最好的起点是打电话 Elliot Savitz、Scott Bradley 和 Kenneth Diesenhof 律師事務所, 在 (781) 974-3429.我们将免费为您评估您的情况,解释可能的后果,并描述我们可以如何为您提供帮助。

让我们备受尊敬的刑事辩护律师让您放心。

支票盗窃2021-07-21T18:36:23+00:00

您可能已经购物并为商品写了个人支票。您不知道您的帐户中没有足够的资金。也许您存入了一张被退回的支票,或者某些服务费使您陷入负面状态,或者您认为您可以及时支付,但出现了紧急情况。现在这家商店威胁要以支票盗窃罪将你告上法庭,这是一种刑事犯罪。如果您发现自己处于这种情况,请不要拖延;立即获得法律建议。你离开它的时间越长,它变得越糟糕。

» 了解更多关于盗窃的信息

停学和/或开除2021-07-21T18:46:59+00:00

也许你在上大学或高中,学校威胁你停学,甚至更糟的是开除。停学或开除不仅会出现在您的学校记录中,而且您可能无法在另一所学校注册。也许您没有做错任何事,或者与室友或朋友发生争执,并且有一点推搡或推搡。也许你在学校里有少量的大麻,但学校有零容忍政策。可能没有任何刑事指控,但后果是毁灭性的。如果您不知道该怎么做,请寻求法律建议。

» 了解更多关于停学、开除和留校察看的信息

限制令2021-07-21T18:33:31+00:00

可能是您的配偶、男朋友、女朋友或室友对您发出限制令,而您没有做错任何事。也许您的配偶找到了其他人,并希望您离开照片。也许你嫁给了一个不是美国人的人,他/她想留在这个国家,但没有你。如果您遇到一个有孩子的人,他们搬进了您的房子,现在他们想强迫您离开怎么办?该人可能编造了一个故事,例如您遭受了身体虐待,或者他们担心立即受到身体伤害的威胁,现在您发现已对您提出限制令。禁止令不是刑事起诉;它是民事的。但是,一旦它到位,它将在您的缓刑记录中,如果您以任何方式违反它,他/她可以因违反滥用令而对您提出刑事指控。这是刑事犯罪,可能会将您送进监狱。如果您感到恐慌并且不知道该怎么做,请寻求法律建议。

» 了解有关限制令的更多信息

未偿认股权证2021-07-21T18:38:32+00:00

有时您或您所爱的人可能会触犯法律。你不知道该怎么做。也许你没有被指控犯有新的罪行,但你发现你有一个多年前的案件的未决逮捕令。你甚至可能不记得案件是关于什么的,或者你本可以认为它已经解决了。也许你没有支付一些未付的罚款或赔偿金或缓刑费。您唯一可以确定的是,您不能续签许可证,或者您将失去社会保障福利。你做什么工作?答案很简单:获得法律建议。

» 了解有关未偿认股权证的更多信息

轻罪和重罪有什么区别?2021-07-21T18:42:33+00:00

轻罪通常在地方法院处理。惩教所的最高刑罚不得超过 2.5 年。重罪可以进行超过 2.5 年,可以在州监狱服刑。轻罪的例子有:殴打和殴打、吊销驾照、oui、侵入、扰乱治安和猥亵暴露。重罪的例子有:使用危险武器袭击和殴打、强奸、抢劫和谋杀。

» 了解有关轻罪与重罪的更多信息

警察可以无缘无故搜查我或我的车吗?2021-07-21T18:44:57+00:00

不可以。必须合理怀疑您犯了罪或被捕,或在拖车以允许警察搜查之前正在进行库存搜查。如果搜查是非法的,任何证据都可能被压制。但是,您仍然可能因其他证据而被定罪。

如果警官没有宣读我的米兰达权利,是否必须驳回此案?2021-07-21T18:53:45+00:00

不可以。如果您在被拘留期间回答警官的问题而没有被阅读您的米兰达权利或被告知您有权聘请律师或保持沉默,那么您所做的任何有罪陈述都可能会被压制,这意味着这些陈述不能用于反对你在审判中。但是,您仍然可以根据其他证据被定罪。

» 立即联系我们以审查侵犯您的米兰达权利的行为

句子是强制性的吗?2021-07-21T19:05:13+00:00

根据收费,有些句子是强制性的(例如,oui 3rd,驾驶执照因 oui 被吊销,以及某些枪支指控),但大多数不是。

» 更多关于刑法

如果我被传唤到法庭接受传讯会怎样?2021-07-21T19:03:46+00:00

在传讯中,首先,法庭官员会与您面谈,以确定您是否贫困(您请不起律师)。然后,您将出庭,您将被法庭传讯(或正式起诉)。您将被警察检察官或 ADA(助理地区检察官)起诉。如果 ADA 想要保释,您的律师通常会反对。然后,您将获得 (PTC) 预审会议的日期,届时 ADA 和您的律师(除非您放弃聘请律师的权利)将讨论证据的发现。在您的 PTC 之后,您将获得其他日期进行动议、合规和选举以及审判。您的律师和 ADA 可以随时提出抗辩。任何请求都必须得到法官的批准。

如果你被传唤出庭, 联系我们 立即代表您并保护您的权利。

我有权在法庭上请律师吗?2021-07-21T19:12:28+00:00

您始终有权在法庭上请律师,并且您可以 聘请自己的律师.但是,如果您可能因您的指控而入狱并且您很穷(您请不起律师),法院将为您指定一名律师,负责 $150 至 $300。

书记员听证会发生什么?2021-07-21T19:11:42+00:00

在一个 书记员的听证会,一个不是法官也不是律师的书记员将决定您是否有可能犯罪的原因。如果是这样,他/她可以提出投诉。在这种情况下,您将(在未来的某个时间,而不是那时)出现在法官面前并被传讯。然而,仅仅因为店员找到了可能的原因,他/她不必提出投诉。如果您有律师,他/她将负责大部分(或全部)谈话,并帮助确保不会提出投诉。

我有权参加书记员听证会吗?2021-07-21T19:13:28+00:00

如果指控是轻罪并且您没有被逮捕,您有权获得 书记员的听证会.如果您没有这个机会,您的律师可以要求驳回此案。有时,即使指控是重罪,您仍会获得听证会。

地方法院和高等法院有什么区别?2021-07-21T19:20:49+00:00

通常,更严重的案件由高等法院处理。有时两个法院都有管辖权。案件将始终在地方法院开始。如果地方检察官想将您的案件移至高等法院,他/她会将您的案件提交大陪审团,他们将决定是否要起诉您。

如果我有罪,我应该认罪吗?2021-07-21T19:19:38+00:00

不,一般来说,你不应该认罪。事实上,法庭会自动为你提出无罪抗辩。即使您有罪,法院也可能因诉讼费用驳回此案。检察官可以提供审前缓刑。此外,法院可能会向您提供 CWOF(没有发现的继续),这不是定罪。请记住,无论有罪还是无罪,国家都有责任在排除合理怀疑的情况下证明您有罪。如果没有,你应该被判无罪。

» 联系律师 在 Elliot Savitz、Scott Bradley 和 Kenneth Diesenhof 律师事务所免费咨询。

 

我需要律师吗?2021-07-21T19:17:22+00:00

一般来说,如果您有能力聘请律师,您应该让律师在整个刑事案件中代表您,包括书记员的听证会、传讯、审前会议、动议和缓刑自首。律师可以最好地保护您的权利并帮助确保获得有利的结果。 联系我们的一位律师 在 Elliot Savitz、Scott Bradley 和 Kenneth Diesenhof 律师事务所了解更多信息。

联系我们

刑事指控

额外的法律服务

您的初步咨询不收取任何费用。
称呼 (781) 974-3429 & 迈出制定制胜战略的第一步。

转到顶部

View bottom right of screen to switch languages.

Pay One FLAT FEE for Your Whole Case - NOT by the Hour. Call for a FREE Consultation: (781) 619-3147

Call for a FREE Consultation: (781) 619-3147

Frequently Asked Questions
Home/Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

If you are looking for a criminal attorney or have questions about potential charges, view some of our most frequently asked questions below. Looking for more information, the attorneys at The Law Offices of Elliot Savitz & Scott Bradley will gladly assist you with additional questions and listen to your circumstances.

At NO COST TO YOU, we will quickly assess your situation and let you know whether you need a criminal defense attorney or not. We will then explain all of your options, discuss the likely consequences and explain how we can help you get the best result possible.

Driving Uninsured or Unregistered2021-07-20T20:00:37+00:00

Is it the case that you forgot to make a payment on your car insurance and now your insurance and registration have been cancelled? You are stopped by the police and could be charged with driving uninsured or unregistered. Your car is being towed, and you are left standing on the side of the road. You have never been in trouble with the law and can’t afford to have a criminal record. On top of that, there’s the potential for you to lose your job, and you just don’t know what to do. You need legal advice.

In all of these cases, and in thousands more, you are panicked and just don’t know where to start. Well, the best place to start is to call The Law Offices of Elliot Savitz, Scott Bradley & Kenneth Diesenhof, at (781) 619-3147. At NO COST TO YOU, we will quickly assess your situation, explain the likely consequences, and describe how we can help you.

Let our highly respected criminal defense attorneys  put your mind at ease.

Larceny by Check2021-07-21T18:36:23+00:00

You may have gone shopping and written a personal check for the merchandise. You didn’t know you had insufficient funds in your account. Perhaps you had deposited a check that bounced or some service charge has put you in the negative, or perhaps you thought you could cover it in time, but an emergency arose. Now the store is threatening to bring you to court for larceny by check, which is a criminal offense. If you find yourself in this situation, don’t delay; get legal advice immediately. The longer you leave it, the worse it gets.

» Learn more on Larceny

Suspension and/or Expulsion2021-07-21T18:46:59+00:00

Perhaps you are in college or high school, and the school is threatening you with a suspension, or even worse, an expulsion. Not only may the suspension or expulsion appear on your school record, but you may not be able to enroll in another school. Perhaps you did nothing wrong or got into an argument with a roommate or friend and there was a little pushing or shoving. Perhaps you had a small amount of marijuana with you at school, but the school has a zero tolerance policy. There may not be any criminal charges, but the consequences are devastating. If you don’t know what to do, get legal advice.

» Learn more on School Suspension, Expulsion & Academic Probation

Restraining Orders2021-07-21T18:33:31+00:00

It could be that your spouse, boyfriend, girlfriend or roommate is taking out a restraining order against you, and you didn’t do anything wrong. Perhaps your spouse has found someone else and wants you out of the picture. Maybe you married someone who is not an American, and he/she wants to stay in the country, but without you. What if you met someone with children, they moved into your house, and now they want to force you out? That person may have fabricated a story, such as you were physically abusive or they were concerned by the threat of immediate physical harm, and now you find a restraining order has been filed against you. The restraining order is not a criminal prosecution; it is civil. However, once it is in place, it will be on your probation record, and if you violate it in any way, he/she can take out criminal charges on you for violation of an abuse order. That is a criminal offense and can put you in jail. If you are in a panic and don’t know what to do, get legal advice.

» Learn more on Restraining Orders

Outstanding Warrants2021-07-21T18:38:32+00:00

Sometimes you or a loved one may get in trouble with the law. You don’t know what to do. Perhaps you are not being charged with a new crime, but you find that you have an outstanding warrant from a case many years ago. You may not even remember what the case was about, or you could have thought it was resolved. Perhaps you didn’t pay some outstanding fine or restitution or probation fee. The only thing you know for sure is that you cannot renew your license or you are about to lose your social security benefits. What do you do? The answer is simple: get legal advice.

» Learn more about Outstanding Warrants

What is the difference between a Misdemeanor and a Felony?2021-07-21T18:42:33+00:00

A misdemeanor is usually handled in District Court. The maximum penalty cannot exceed 2 ½ years in a house of correction. A felony can carry more than 2 ½ years and can be served in state prison. Examples of misdemeanors are: assault & battery, driving on a suspended license, oui, trespass, disturbing the peace, and indecent exposure. Examples of felonies are: assault & battery with a dangerous weapon, rape, robbery, and murder.

» Learn more about a misdemeanor versus a felony

Can a police officer search me or my car for no reason?2021-07-21T18:44:57+00:00

No. There must be a reasonable suspicion that you committed a crime or you are under arrest, or an inventory search is being carried out prior to a car being towed to allow a police officer search. If the search is illegal, any evidence may be suppressed. However, you could still be convicted on other evidence.

If a police officer does not read me my Miranda rights, must the case be dismissed?2021-07-21T18:53:45+00:00

No. If you are in custody and answer an officer’s questions without being read your Miranda rights or told you have a right to an attorney or to be silent, then any incriminating statements you make might be suppressed, which means those statements cannot be used against you at trial. However, you can still be convicted on other evidence.

» Contact us today to review a violation of your Miranda Rights

Are sentences mandatory?2021-07-21T19:05:13+00:00

Depending on the charge, some sentences are mandatory (e.g., oui 3rd, driving while your license is suspended because of an oui, and certain gun charges), but most are not.

» More on Criminal Law

What happens if I am summonsed into court for an arraignment?2021-07-21T19:03:46+00:00

At an arraignment, first, you will be interviewed by an officer of the court to determine if you are indigent (you cannot afford a lawyer). Then, you will appear in court, where you will be arraigned (or formally charged) by the court. You will be prosecuted by a police prosecutor or an ADA (Assistant District Attorney). If the ADA wants bail, your lawyer will generally argue against it. You will then be given a date for a (PTC) pre-trial conference, at which time the ADA and your lawyer (unless you waive your right to a lawyer) will discuss discovery of evidence. After your PTC, you will be given other dates for motions, compliance & election, and trial. At anytime, your lawyer and the ADA can work out a plea. Any plea must be approved by the judge.

If you are summoned for an arraignment, contact us immediately to represent you and protect your rights.

Am I entitled to a lawyer in court?2021-07-21T19:12:28+00:00

You are always entitled to a lawyer in court and you can hire your own lawyer. However, if you could go to jail on your charge(s) and you are indigent (you cannot afford a lawyer), the court will appoint a lawyer for you for $150 to $300.

What happens at a clerk’s hearing?2021-07-21T19:11:42+00:00

At a Clerk’s Hearing, a clerk, who is not a judge and generally not a lawyer, will decide if there is probable cause that you committed a crime. If so, he/she can issue a complaint. In that case, you will appear (sometime in the future, not then) before a judge and be arraigned on the charge(s). However, just because the clerk finds probable cause, he/she does not have to issue a complaint. If you have a lawyer, he/she will do most (or all) of the talking and help ensure that a complaint does not issue.

Am I entitled to a Clerk’s Hearing?2021-07-21T19:13:28+00:00

If the charge is a misdemeanor and you have not been arrested, you are entitled to a Clerk’s Hearing. If you are not given this opportunity, your lawyer can ask that the case be dismissed. Sometimes, you will still be offered a hearing even though the charge is a felony.

What is the difference between District Court and Superior Court?2021-07-21T19:20:49+00:00

As a rule, the more serious cases are handled in Superior Court. Sometimes there is jurisdiction in both courts. The case will always begin in District Court. If the District Attorney wants to move your case to Superior Court, he/she will bring your case before the grand jury, and they will decide if they want to indict you.

If I am guilty, should I just plead guilty?2021-07-21T19:19:38+00:00

No. Generally speaking, you should not plead guilty. As a matter of fact, the court will automatically put in a plea of not guilty for you. Even if you are guilty, the court may dismiss the case for court costs. The prosecutor may offer pre-trial probation. Also, the court may offer you a CWOF (continuation without a finding), which is not a conviction. Remember, guilty or not guilty, the burden is on the state to prove you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. If not, you should be found not guilty.

» Contact an attorney at The Law Offices of Elliot Savitz, Scott Bradley & Kenneth Diesenhof  for a free consultation.

 

Do I need a lawyer?2021-07-21T19:17:22+00:00

Generally, if you can afford a lawyer, you should have a lawyer represent you throughout a criminal case, including clerk’s hearings, arraignments, pre-trial conferences, motions and probation surrenders. A lawyer can best protect your rights and help ensure a favorable outcome. Contact one of our attorneys at The Law Offices of Elliot Savitz, Scott Bradley & Kenneth Diesenhof and learn more.

CONTACT US

CRIMINAL CHARGES

ADDITIONAL LEGAL SERVICES

THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR YOUR INITIAL CONSULTATION.
Call (781) 619-3147 & Take the 1st Step to Developing a Winning Strategy.

Go to Top